Skip to content

AI for Sustainable Development Goals

DOI https://doi.org/10.21552/delphi/2019/4/10

Nicolas Miailhe, Cyrus Hodes, Arohi Jain, Niki Iliadis, Sacha Alanoca, Josephine Png


Advances in AI technologies pose opportunities and risks directly impacting progress towards the UN Sustainable Development Goals. This paper, through an analysis of specific use cases, considers how AI technologies can help achieve progress towards the SDGs as well as how they may inhibit them. Second, it draws out practical steps for how AI technologies can be implemented for sustainable development, identifying the barriers that global and local communities need to overcome for implementation. Third, this paper makes the case for multi-stakeholder collaboration and new kinds of ‘public-private-people’ partnerships which will reconcile technical, ethical, legal, commercial, and operational frameworks and protocols to harness the power of AI technologies and deliver solutions to the SDGs. These partnerships could be built and piloted by new international initiatives, such as the Global Data Access Framework and the AI4SDG Center spearheaded as part of a wider international partnership called AI Commons.

Nicolas Miailhe, CEO & Co-Founder, The Future Society. For correspondence: <nicolas.miailhe@thefuturesociety.org>;Cyrus Hodes, Director of AI-Initiative, The Future Society. For correspondence: <cyrus@ai-initiative.org>;Arohi Jain, MBA Candidate, Yale School of Management. For correspondence: <arohi@ai-initiative.org>;Niki Iliadis, Senior AI Policy Researcher, The Future Society. For correspondence: <niki.iliadis@thefuturesociety.org>;Sacha Alanoca, AI Policy Researcher, The Future Society. For correspondence: <sacha.alanoca@thefuturesociety.org>;Josephine Png, Affiliate, The Future Society. For correspondence: <josephine.png@thefuturesociety.org>

Share


Lx-Number Search

A
|
(e.g. A | 000123 | 01)

Export Citation